Archive for July, 2009

Faron Young and Marty Robbins newsletter — 22 July 2009

Tuesday, July 21st, 2009


Seven members of Marty’s inner circle attended the Marty Robbins band reunion in Nashville on 18 July. Joe Vincent played steel for Marty in 1953-54. Earl White (now an Opry staff musician) was one of the original Tear Drops, Marty’s first official band. Jack Pruett played lead guitar from 1956 until Marty’s death. Okie Jones drove the bus and ran the recording studio. Marty hired Haskel McCormick on banjo for a year while Twentieth Century Drifter was on the charts. Joe Babcock joined the Glaser Brothers when Chuck left for the Army in 1959, and he stayed with Marty until 1965. Marty’s son, Ronny Robbins, completed the group. (more…)